The Cable

The Cable goes inside the U.N. Security Council

This afternoon, the United Nations Security Council will hold its one and only formal session of the week and the U.S. delegation is entitled to bring one reporter with them to report on the event from inside the chamber itself. They've chosen none other than your humble Cable guy.

That's right, The Cable will be in the room with Ambassador Susan Rice and a host of heads of state and heads of government from the other 14 Security Council member countries. The subject of the high level event is preventive diplomacy. It is the only event in the Security Council this week's U.N. General Assembly.  The meeting will be chaired by the President of Lebanon Michel Sleiman. Other heads of state in attendance will be Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Colombia, Gabon, Nigeria and South Africa. Portugal will be represented by its prime minister, while the remaining council members will be represented at the level of foreign minister.

At a Security Council session last July, the secretary-general presented a report that describes the relevance of preventive diplomacy across the conflict spectrum and as part of broader, nationally owned strategies to promote peace.  At today's session, Security Council members will discuss the report and address such questions as: How can the Security Council strengthen its role in preventive diplomacy? How can the sources of tension and potential conflict be more readily identified and acted upon? How can peacekeeping missions be built on in order to mitigate the effects of conflicts and prevent their spread? How can the requirements of preventive diplomacy be reconciled with the prerogatives of State sovereignty when they appear to conflict?

And as with any U.N. event where there are open microphones, who knows what other topics could be raised...

We'll be covering this event here on The Cable and also tweeting from inside the Security Council chamber in real time (@joshrogin).

The Cable

Hill staffers to watch on foreign policy

Keep your eye on these Capitol Hill staffers, all of whom were selected for the 2011 Fall Congressional Fellowship Program at the Partnership for a Secure America (PSA), a centrist, security-minded policy organization here in Washington.

Founded by former U.S. Representative Lee Hamilton (D-IN) and U.S. Senator Warren Rudman (R-NH), PSA is advised by former Democratic national security advisors Zbigniew Brzezinski and Samuel Berger, as well as former GOP Senators Howard Baker and Slade Gorton. Among the recent additions to its board are former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright and former Defense Secretary William Cohen.

The new PSA Congressional Fellows will participate in a program that will allow them to network and interact with top experts and senior Obama administration officials. This is the fifth session of the fellows program.

"[T]he program brings together Republican and Democratic staff to develop the skills and relationships required to advance bipartisanship on national security and foreign policy issues," PSA will say in its forthcoming press release. "Through training, networking, and interaction with top leaders in these fields, this unique program aims to build a ‘next generation' of foreign affairs and national security experts equipped to respect differences, build common ground, and achieve US national interests.

Full list of fellows after the jump:

Hera Abbasi

Legislative Assistant

Representative Gerry Connolly (VA)

Jen Barnes

Legislative Assistant

Representative Bobby Schilling (IL)

Nina Besser

Senior Legislative Assistant

Representative Jan Schakowsky (IL)

Joe Bosnick

Staff Assistant

Senator John Cornyn (TX)

Sara Brown

Legislative Correspondent

Senator Jim Webb (VA)

Alexandra Brunory

Policy Advisor

Representative Tom Price (GA)

Joel Colony

Deputy Legislative Assistant

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (NH)

Ryan Ehly

Deputy Legislative Assistant

Senator Ben Nelson (NE)

Cory Gill

Legislative Assistant

Senate Foreign Relations Committee (Minority)

Schylr Greggs

Policy Advisor

Representative Pete Sessions (TX)

Kenya Handy

Legislative Assistant

Representative Yvette Clarke (NY)

Matt Henken

Legislative Director

Representative Ed Perlmutter (CO)

Josh Koslov

Defense Fellow

Representative Gabrielle Giffords (AZ)

Robert Lawrence

Professional Staff Member

House Foreign Affairs Committee (Majority)

Jessica Lemos

Legislative Director

Representative David Cicilline (RI)

Jonathan Moore

Senior Legislative Assistant

Representative Steve Rothman (NJ)

Jonathan Nabavi

Legislative Counsel

Representative Steve King (IA)

Dr. Carol Pillsbury Patton

Legislative Council

Representative John Conyers (MI)

Chris Perry

Senior Legislative Assistant

Representative Buck McKeon (CA)

Steve Petersen

Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel

Representative Rob Bishop (UT)

Sergio Rodriguera, Jr.


Majority Leader Eric Cantor (VA)

Jean Roehrenbeck

Legislative Director

Representative Mike Doyle (PA)

Scott Shiller

Legislative Director

Representative Billy Long (MO)

Simon Tafoya

Legislative Assistant

Senator Mark Udall (CO)

Cristina Tallarigo

Senior Editor

Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX)

Will Todd

Legislative Assistant

Senator Thad Cochran (MS)

Valentina Valenta

Senior Policy Advisor

Representative Rob Woodall (GA)

John Van Etten

Senior Legislative Assistant

Representative Nan Hayworth (NY)

Toby Whitney

Legislative Director

Representative Jim McDermott (WA)

Aaron Wolf

Chief Clerk

Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee (Majority)